BOFT - Battle of Franklin TrustBOFT - The Carter HouseBOFT - Carnton PlantationBOFT - Calendar of  EventsBOFT - LearnBOFT - Museum StoreBOFT - SupportBOFT - Plan Your VisitBOFT - Home


40th Annual Carter House Candlelight Tour.

Friday, November 30th and Saturday, December 1st, 2012 - 6:00 to 9:30 p.m.


TICKETS


Tickets are $30 per person and must be purchased at The Carter House or Carnton Plantation.

Tickets are non-refundable.


PARKING


There is no street parking on Lewisburg Avenue. Please park in the parking lots at either The Carter House or Carnton Plantation. Free shuttles will pick up from these locations and drop off on Lewisburg Avenue. Each home on Lewisburg Avenue is accessible by foot.
The first shuttles of the evening will leave the parking lots of both The Carter House and Carnton Plantation at 5:50 p.m. and will run continuously throughout the evening. The last shuttle will leave Lewisburg Avenue at 9:45 p.m.


TOUR HOMES


The Carter House
1140 Columbia Avenue
Built in 1830 by Fountain Branch Carter, the brick farm house withstood the Battle of Franklin on November 30th, 1864. On Friday evening, the 148th anniversary of the battle, tour the home riddled with bullet damage and hear the story and struggles of the Carter family. On Saturday, the Carter House will be transformed to reflect traditional 19th century décor.

Carnton Plantation
1345 Carnton Lane
The McGavock family constructed Carnton Plantation in 1826. During the Civil War, John and Carrie McGavock occupied the home that would become the primary Confederate field hospital during and after the Battle of Franklin. See the bloodstained floors and experience firsthand accounts of that fateful night November 30th. Beginning December 1st, Carnton will portray an 1800s Christmas scene.

Lotz House
1111 Columbia Avenue
The 1858 Lotz House was the showcase of master carpenter Johann Albert Lotz. Stunning architectural qualities and battle damage from the 1864 battle are still visible in the home. The Lotz House is currently a historic house museum with an exceptional antiques collection operated by J. T. Thompson.

Adgent House
123 Lewisburg Avenue
A recipient of the 2010 Heritage Foundation Preservation Award, this craftsman style house is the residence of Tim and Betsy Adgent. Original windows, hardwood floors, and moldings were retained and used as inspiration in the recent remodeling of this home.

Stewart House
201 Lewisburg Avenue
Renovations over the years have drawn heavily from salvaged materials in this circa 1895 home. Wainscoting from Nashville and brown marble from the Garden District of New Orleans are stunning complements to the original quarter sawn oak flooring. Today it is the home of Boardman and Lillian Stewart.

North-Nance House
206 Lewisburg Avenue
Dr. James North and wife Eliza Baker North divided their own lot and built and sold this house to their son and his wife in 1912. Owned today by Sally Nance, the cottage has ten foot high ceilings and multiple fireplaces with original mantels, which makes it both grand and welcoming.

Drs. North-Miller House
208 Lewisburg Avenue
The North-Miller House was constructed in 1894 by Dr. James North with Victorian influences such as a wrap-around porch and two story turret. In the early 1970s, the home was altered in the Colonial Revival style, but retains many original attributes including a teardrop crystal chandelier in the dining room. The home is now the residence of Dr. Tim and Julie Miller.

Mills-Crosby-Jewell House
211 Lewisburg Avenue
The original home on this lot was destroyed during the Civil War and its lumber taken to build Ft. Granger. Today, James and Madeline Jewell reside in the house built in the years following the war. Once an ornate Victorian, the façade has been altered as architectural styles evolved.

Stubblefield House
219 Lewisburg Avenue
This home, owned and occupied by the Stubblefield family, is a charming 1937 cottage. A few changes over the years have added to the appeal of the house, including a back porch converted into a modern kitchen with antique touches. However, the doors, trim, molding, floors, and stairs are all original to the home, along with the door knobs and dining room chandelier.

Ross House
220 Lewisburg Avenue
Builder Ken Woodard spent eighteen months working with the historic planning commission to create the architectural plan for this showplace. Completed in 2010, the Ross House is the home of interior designer Eric Ross and his wife Ruthann and reflects the historical community that surrounds it.

Thank you to the following sponsors who have made this event possible:



          






BOFT - Contact UsBOFT - VideosBOFT - Weddings at CarntonBOFT - MembershipBOFT - The Widow of the SouthBOFT - LinksBOFT - Press Room